top of page
  • Writer's pictureJason Allen

A Good Poisonous Parasite? (Venom Review)



Hey guys! So I saw Venom this weekend, and man oh man. This movie is a lot better than what the critics are making it out to be. Where do I begin? This is my review of Venom.


Two words. Tom Hardy. This actor does a great job in whatever role he is playing. I thought his Bane was good, but now him playing Eddie Brock was even better I think. His performance as Brock, being kind of an average, struggling reporter type of guy was solid and very relatable to the common person.


Then you have the action, and this review will be spoiler free, don't worry, but the action was really good and very engaging. In almost every action scene I was going wow! And I could not wait to see what Venom/Brock would do next.


Now we get to talk a little about the star, Venom of course! Venom as a character kind of reminds me of what you happen if you mixed John Carpenter's The Thing with Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho. You basically have an alien species that takes control of a human, but instead of killing the human, it almost makes them have a split personality disorder, kind of like Norman Bates in Psycho. And that split personality is what makes Venom shine. He is constantly arguing with his human partner Brock, and the dialogue is hilarious!


The only downside I really have is the main villain of this movie is very.... plain. He definitely has a sinister side that most villains in these superhero movies have, don't get me wrong, but his overall character comes off as kind of lackluster. Maybe that's just cause Tom Hardy played Eddie Brock so good that it simply outshined the villain's performance.


Anyways, don't let that last paragraph distract you too much. This movie has plenty of action, comedy, and more to keep you entertained until the very end. It can be kind of dark in nature at times, but hey, the character Venom is kind of dark sometimes too, so it fits right in. So in the end guys, go see it for yourself, but I personally give Venom a 4/5 stars. Now go to the theaters and pick this poison to watch, you won't be sorry!

8 views0 comments
bottom of page